JD(S)-Congress alliance on Saturday swept the Mysuru Zilla Panchayat President-Vice President polls.
Parimala Shyam of JD(S) and Gowramma Somashekar of Congress elected as the President and Vice President, respectively.
Though BJP member Guruswamy had filed nomination for VP, he withdrew the papers following JD(S) joining hands with Congress.
It may be recalled that JD(S) and BJP had formed an alliance and ruled the council for three years.
But the JD(S) decided to discontinue the alliance following the political developments in the state, according to the sources.
BJP leaders took severe exception against JD(S) for withdrawal of support and raised slogans.
Ministers G T Devegowda and Sa Ra Mahesh on Friday had claimed that the BJP-JD(S) alliance will continue for another two years.
The ZP has 49 members. While BJP has 8, JD(S)-Congress alliance has 40 and an independent member.