Five new Supreme Court judges took oath on Monday taking the working strength of the top court to 32 as against its sanctioned strength of 34.

The five persons appointed as Supreme Court judges are:

– Justice Pankaj Mithal;

– Justice Sanjay Karol;

– Justice PV Sanjay Kumar;

– Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah;

– Justice Manoj Misra.

Chief Justice of India (CJI) DY Chandrachud administered the oath of office.

The five High Court judges were recommended for elevation by the Supreme Court Collegium on December 13.

The appointments were notified by the Central government on January 4, Saturday.

Justice Pankaj Mithal was serving as the Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court. Previously, he was Chief Justice of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh High Court. His parent High Court is the Allahabad High Court.

Justice Sanjay Karol was the Chief Justice of Patna High Court. He is former Chief Justice of Tripura High Court. His parent High Court is the Himachal Pradesh High Court.

Justice PV Sanjay Kumar was serving as Chief Justice of Manipur High Court when recommended for elevation to top court. Prior to that he served as a judge of Punjab and Haryana High Court. His parent High Court is Telangana.

Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah was serving as a judge of the Patna High Court. He has served at the Andhra Pradesh High Court before being transferred back to Patna, his parent High Court.

Justice Manoj Misra was a judge at the Allahabad High Court. He was elevated as an additional Judge on November 21, 2011 and was made a permanent judge on August 6, 2013.

On Friday, the Supreme Court had pulled up the BJP heeded Union government for delaying the appointments of the five judges, who were recommended in December 2022.

A Bench of Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul and Abhay S Oka had given the Union an ultimatum to process the appointments within ten days, after Attorney General N Venkataramani had submitted that they would be done “soon”.

The appointments were notified by the Union government on January 4, Saturday.