Ashok Lavasa is a retired 1980 batch IAS officer of the Haryana cadre. He was appointed as Election Commissioner in January, 2018.
Previously, he held the portfolio of India’s Finance Secretary from June 2016 till October 2017.
Besides this, he was also India’s environment secretary and the civil aviation secretary.
As an Election Commissioner, Ashok Lavasa made headlines when he registered his dissent when the Election Commission gave a clean chit to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and then BJP president Amit Shah on alleged violations of the Model Code of Conduct.
If he not resigned then Ashok Lavasa was next in the line to head the Election Commission and become India’s Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) after retirement of the current CEC Sunil Arora in April 2021.
Inside election commission Sources confirmed  PMO office keen to send off Ashok Lavasa to ADB and therefore  acceded its consent on this matter.
Ashok Lavasa has now become the second election commissioner to step down from the poll panel before the completion of his term.
Ashok Lavasa’s resignation from the post of the Election Commissioner came on Tuesday, a month after he was named as the new vice-president of the Asian Development Bank (ADB).
He is likely to join the Asian Development Bank (ADB) in September. Ashok Lavasa resigned as he could have taken the position at ADB only after resigning from his position in the Election Commission.
Ashok Lavasa’s appointment as the ADB vice president was announced last week. “The ADB has appointed Ashok Lavasa as vice-president for Private Sector Operations and Public-Private Partnerships.
He will succeed Diwakar Gupta, whose term will end on August 31,” the ADB said in a statement.