The ruling DMK announces candidates for biennial Rajya Sabha election and retained three seats, allotted one seat to ally Congress.

DMK high command has surprised many by introducing three newcomers to Rajyasabha 

DMK Thanjavur district secretary Kalyanasundaram, Namakkal district coordinator KRN Rajesh Kumar and legal wing secretary Girirajan are being announced as DMK candidates.

DMK senior leaders  and sitting MP TKS Elangovan and R.S Bharathi has been denied another term. whereas Namakkal District coordinator KRN Rajesh kumar given a second term

Keeping oncoming President election in mind DMK send a clear message to BJP High command by allocating a seat to Congress Party 

The Rajya Sabha elections for six seats in Tamil Nadu, which will fall vacant on June 29, are set to be held on June 10.

The ECI said Biennial Elections to the Council of States will be held to fill the seats of members retiring between June 21 and August 1, 2022.

The term of office of 57 members elected from 15 States is due to expire on their retirement on the dates during the period from June-August.