ADMK DMK South India

ADMK ousted , DMK 133 seats ensures Majority Stalin to Sworn on May 7th as Chief Minister

The DMK led by MK Stalin on Sunday scripted history by securing an independent majority on its own after a gap of nearly 25 years.
The party has managed to win around 133 seats, a dozen more than the simple majority of 118 seats in the 234-member State Assembly.
Following the defeat of ADMK party in the recent assembly elections, the AIADMK leader and Chief Minister Edappadi Palanisami forwarded his resignation letter to Tamil Nadu Governor, Banwarilal Purohit.
The DMK MLAs will formally elect M.K. Stalin on 04 may as the party legislative party leader and will hand over the letter of support to the Tamil Nadu Governor Banwari Lal Purohit.
The oath taking ceremony is likely to be held at Raj Bhavan on May 7, Friday without much fanfare.
DMK leadership said that the Stalin led DMK government will be facing the first test in managing the Covid-19 pandemic with Tamil Nadu clocking more than 20,000 cases and 153 deaths on Sunday.
Stalin, who had performed exceedingly well as the Mayor of Chennai bringing in waste management and constructing flyovers across Chennai to ease out the traffic bottlenecks, is likely to bring in that acumen in the administration of Tamil Nadu.
DMK which secured 37.7% votes on the 2021 elections has secured 133 seats as per EC website
Meanwhile, the outgoing Chief Minister EPS gave his best wishes to MK Stalin on his party’s victory in the Assembly elections. He shared his wishes in his official twitter handle.
Splco Reporter
Special Correspondent Group of right thinking writers who eulogise self expression in quest of truth in news making jointly contribute under the platform of a novel social media channel.