The DMK on Thursday allotted six constituencies to its ally Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi for the forthcoming April 6 assembly elections in Tamil Nadu.
An electoral pact was signed by DMK president M K Stalin and VCK chief Thol Thirumavalavan at the Dravidian party headquarters ”Anna Arivalayam” today .
In the absence of DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi and AIADMK matriarch J Jayalalithaa, the BJP was trying hard to weaken both the Dravidian parties and working towards destroying politics that was aimed at upholding social justice, Thirumavalavan alleged.
“We have decided to fight from six segments.” Though there was dissatisfaction on the number of seats offered in the party, it was decided to accept the deal to drive out ”Sanathana forces” from Tamil Nadu and to consolidate secular votes, Thirumavalavan told reporters.
It is to noted during 2009 VCK contested 9 seats and won 2 ; in 2011 VCK contested 12 seats and scored Nil and in 2016 VCK contested 25 seats and scored Nil and in 2019 parliament election it allied with DMK under M.K Stalin leadership and contested 2 seats and won all the seats it contested
Also few days back  the DMK had set apart three seats to the Indian Union Muslim League and two constituencies to Manithaneya Makkal Katchi.
Seat-sharing with Congress and Left parties is yet to be finalised by the DMK.
The 234-member Tamil Nadu assembly will have a single phase polling on April 6.
The stalemate over seat-sharing between Congress and DMK is to be settled amicably as per Congress High command sources in Delhi