Republic Day marks the day the Constitution of India came into effect, which was on the 26th of January 1950. India’s constitution is the longest constitution in the world with 444 articles segmented into 22 parts, and 12 schedules with 118 amendments to date.

26 January was chosen to commemorate this occasion because on this day the Indian National Congress in 1930 demanded “Purna Swaraj” opposing the British Regime’s Dominion status.

The first Republic Day parade was held in 1950 at the Irwin Amphitheater (now Major Dhyan Chand Stadium). Three thousand Indian military personnel and over 100 aircrafts participated in the first parade.

·With Pakistan’s Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad as the chief guest, the first parade at Rajpath was organised in 1955, one of two times that a Pakistani leader was given the honor.

·President Sukarno from Indonesia was the first chief guest to attend India’s Republic Day celebrations in 1950. Every year, the leader of a particular nation is invited as the chief guest for the Republic Day parade

A 21-gun salute is given every year when the President of India hoists the national flag. The celebration lasts for three days.

The President of the country gives the address on Republic Day, whereas the Prime Minister of the country addresses the nation on Independence Day.