Assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana will be held on October 21, the Election Commission announced on Saturday.
Counting of votes in both the states will be held on October 24, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora said at press conference here.
While the term of 288-member Maharashtra assembly ends on November 9, that of the 90-member Haryana assembly expires on November 2.
The notification for the elections will be issued on September 27. The last date for filing nomination is October 4, the scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done on October 5. The last day for withdrawing nominations is October 7.
Haryana has a strength of 90 seats out of which 17 are reserved for SC and none for ST. The state has 1.82 crore registered voters out of which 1.07 lakh are service voters.
In Haryana, Manohar Lal Khattar-led BJP government is in power after the party won 47 out of a total of 90 seats in the 2014 Assembly election while the Congress was restricted to just 15 seats.
Two seats went to the Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) and one each to the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Five Independents were also elected.
“Election campaigns impose an environmental cost upon us. We appeal to political parties to avoid the use of plastic and use only environment-friendly material in their campaigns,” Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said while announcing the polling dates.
But the Election Commission is silent on VVPAT Counting a demand that was made by 21 political parties in India ..