The JD(U) has won the Hilsa assembly seat in Bihar just by 12 votes, according to the Election Commission website, but this result contested by the RJD.
According to the results updated on the Election Commission website late Tuesday night, JD(U)’s Krishnamurari Sharan alias Prem Mukhiya has polled 61,848 votes
While his nearest Atri Muni alias Shakti Singh Yadav of the RJD has got 61,836 votes.
As per the poll panel data, JD(U)’s Krishnamurari Sharan has got 232 postal votes and the RJD’s Shakti Singh Yadav 233.
“Results declared,” the poll panel wrote in the ‘status’ column for Hilsa seat late Tuesday night.
In the the margin column Election commission wrote as 12 .
Earlier, around 10 pm, when the poll panel website showed that votes for Hilsa were still being counted, RJD said .
RJD alleged strategic foul play in the process. It added “The Returning Officer had declared RJD candidate Shakti Singh from Hilsa assembly constituency as winner by 547 votes.
He was told to wait for issuing the victory certificate. But then the Returning Officer receives a call from the chief minister’ss residence and the officer suddenly says the RJD candidate has lost by 13 votes due to postal ballots being cancelled,” the party alleged in a tweet.
The Election Commission has, however, denied it and replied it was not under any pressure from anybody.