Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has secured a fourth term with a landslide victory in polls the opposition slammed as “farcical” over claims of vote-rigging, and clashes between rival supporters that killed at least 17 people.
Hasina’s ruling Awami League party and its allies won 288 seats in the 300-seat parliament, with the main opposition securing only six seats, Election Commission secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said.
Awami Legaue+ 288
BNP+ 6
The opposition has rejected the results and face of Jatiyo Oikyo Mancho (National Unity Front) Dr, Kamal Hossain has demanded repoll.
Dr Kamal Hossain dubbed the election result as ‘vote dacoity’ and demanded fresh polls under impartial EC. He said, ” “More than 100 Oikya Front candidates have boycotted the election midway”.
He said a non-partisan government should conduct re-poll. BNP General secretary Fakhrul Alamgir also said that this result has vindicated their decision not to take part in the last elections as it is a ‘cruel joke on democracy’.
Sheikh Hasina has won from her Gopalganj 3 seat by a massive margin of 229539 votes. In her first reaction after record third consecutive win in general elections, Hasina said as quoted by her political adviser HR Imam, ” Not the time for victory marches, now is the time to build the nation”.
She has also asked workers not to be complacent and not leave the counting centres til the last votes are tallied.
Bangladesh information minister has said that this result has shown that BNP’s days are numbered.
Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Mortaza too has won from Narail 3 contesting in an Awami league ticket.
Earlier at least 13 people were killed in poll-related violence amid allegations of manipulations by the ruling Awami League led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.
Awami league has already won 153 seats crossing the magic figure of 150. They are ahead in 96 seats currently. Results have been declared for 159 seats so far. It is completely a one-way street.
Meanwhile Awami League candidate and Bangladesh ODI Captain Mashrafe Mortaza has won from Narail. He won by an impressive 2 lakh 63 thousand votes.