Congress president Rahul Gandhi held deliberations with the four leaders at his Tughlaq Lane residence in the national capital on Saturday.
Later at a legislature party meeting in Raipur, the MLAs elected Baghel as their leader.
“Celebrations are in order in Chhattisgarh as Bhupesh Baghel is appointed CM. We wish him the best as he forms a govt. of equality, transparency & integrity starting off with farm loan waiver for farmers as we promised,” Congress announced on its Twitter handle.
On December 12, the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) had met here in the presence of AICC observer Mallikarjun Kharge and AICC-in-charge for Chhattisgarh, PL Punia.
It had passed a resolution authorising Gandhi to take a final call on who would be the next chief minister.
Party functionaries said Gandhi had held the first round of meeting with Kharge and Punia on December 13.

Following BJP fall in Hindi heartland Congress new three Chief Ministers elected  are Bhupesh Baghel for Chattisgarh , Kamalnath for Madhyapradesh , Gehlot for Rajasthan

The BJP had questioned the delay in choosing a CM with BJP state general secretary Sachchidanand Upasane asking how the party intended to run the government when it was taking so much time to zero in on a chief minister.
It is important to note after the victory in Uttarpradesh for BJP on March 11 2017 ., it took 8 days to clear the leadership tussle in the state amongst three BJP VIP contestants but on 18th March yogi candidate was made and then on 19th March he took charge as CM in uttarpradesh
In the two-phase polls that took place on November 12 and November 20, the Congress won 68 seats in the 90-member House and the BJP, in power since 2003, was reduced to just 15 seats.
Bhupesh Baghel joined Indian Youth Congress in 1985 and was President, IYC Durg District from 1990 to 1994.
He was Vice President of Madhya Pradesh Youth Congress(1994–95).
He was elected to Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly consecutively in 1993 and 1998 from Patan. Baghel was appointed minister of state in Digvijay Singh’s cabinet (Public Grievance Dept. attached to the CM) in December, 1998 and promoted as Minister of Transport in December, 1999.
He was appointed Chairman of MP State Road Transport Corporation in January, 2000.
After the state of Chhattisgarh was created by the Government of India in November 2000, he became member of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly.
Baghel became First Minister for Revenue, Public Health Engineering and relief work till 2003 . Under his presidency Chhattisgarh Congress won 2018 Chhattisgarh Vidhansabha election by a thumping majority.To avoid lavish marriage functions and to promote marriages with minimum expenditure he has been organising mass marriage ceremonies.
Bhupesh Baghel was born in a farmer family and he is married to Mukteshwari Baghel, who is daughter of Hindi writer Dr. Narendra Dev Verma