Use of words like ‘corrupt’, ‘drama’, ‘Covid spreader’ and ‘Snoopgate’ and even commonly used words like ‘ashamed’, ‘abused, ‘betrayed’, ‘hypocrisy’ and ‘incompetent’ will henceforth be considered unparliamentary in both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, according to a new booklet by the Lok Sabha Secretariat.

The booklet listing out unparliamentary words and expressions comes ahead of the Monsoon session beginning July 18, during which the use of words like ‘anarchist’, ‘Shakuni’, ‘dictatorial’, ‘taanashah’, ‘taanashahi’, ‘Jaichand’, ‘vinash purush’, ‘Khalistani’ and ‘khoon se kheti’ would also be expunged if used during debates or otherwise in both the houses.

Some words and expressions are declared unparliamentary from time to time by the Chair in different Legislative bodies in the country as well as in Commonwealth Parliaments, have been compiled by the Lok Sabha Secretariat for ready reference in the future.

Among some of the English words listed by the Secretariat as unparliamentary include ‘bloodshed’, ‘bloody’, ‘betrayed’, ‘ashamed’, ‘abused’, ‘cheated, ‘chamcha’, ‘chamchagiri’, ‘chelas’, ‘childishness’, ‘corrupt’, ‘coward’, ‘criminal’ and ‘crocodile tears’.

Besides words like ‘disgrace’, ‘donkey’, ‘drama’, ‘eyewash’, ‘fudge’, ‘hooliganism’, ‘hypocrisy’, ‘incompetent’, ‘mislead’, ‘lie’ and ‘untrue’ would also be prohibited for use in Parliament henceforth.

Among some of the Hindi words listed as unparliamentary include ‘anarchist’, ‘gaddar’, ‘girgit’, ‘goons’, ‘ghadiyali ansu’, ‘apmaan’, ‘asatya’, ‘ahankaar’, ‘corrupt’, ‘kala din’, ‘kala bazaari’ and ‘khareed farokht’.

Besides, words like ‘danga’, ‘dalal’, ‘daadagiri’, ‘dohra charitra’, ‘bechara’, ‘bobcut’, ‘lollypop’, ‘vishwasghat’, ‘samvedanheen’, ‘foolish’, ‘pitthu’, ‘behri sarkar’ and ‘sexual harassment’ would be considered as unparliamentary and would not be included as part of record.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Thursday joined the chorus against the “gag order” from the Lok Sabha secretariat and in a jibe at ‘New India’ redefined what unparliamentary stands for. ‘Unparliamentary’ stands for words used in discussions and debates which “correctly” describe the PM’s handling of the government, now banned from being spoken, the image Rahul Gandhi shared read. It also offered an example of an unparliamentary sentence: “Jumlajeevi Tanashah shed Crocodile Tears when his lies and incompetence were exposed”, with the “unparliamentary” words marked in bold.

Leaders said what on ‘unparliamentary’ row:

TMC MP  Derek O’Brien: “Session begins in a few day. Gag order issued on MPs Now, we will not be allowed to use these basic words while delivering a speech in Parliament : Ashamed. Abused. Betrayed. Corrupt. Hypocrisy. Incompetent. I will use all these words. Suspend me. Fighting for democracy.”

Shivsena MP  Priyanka Chaturvedi: “Since speaking these words from the report will be considered unparliamentary, just leaving it here with Wah Modiji, Wah!”

Congress MP Jairam Ramesh: “All words used to describe the reality of the Modi government will now be considered unparliamentary. “What next Vishguru?”

TMC MP Mahua Moitra: “Baith jaiye. Baith Jaiye. Prem se boliye. New list of unparliamentary words for LS & RS does not include Sanghi. Basically govt taken all words used by opposition to describe how BJP destroying India & banned them.”

Congress General Secreatary Priyanka Gandhi: “The intention of the government is such that when it does corruption, it should be called masterstroke. You can’t say ‘jumlajeevi’ to one who throws rhetoric like ‘2 crore jobs’, ‘doubling farmers’ income’. You will have to say ‘Thank you’. Who used the word ‘andolanjeevi’ in Parliament for our farmers?”