North India Votes & Polls

ABVP win DUSU using EVMs not from EC but private

The student wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS)  The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Thursday  won 3 posts , including that of the president,  vice president and joint secretary in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections. 

Whereas  Congress-affiliated NSUI won only one seat.

Ankiv Basoya won the presidential post with a margin of 1744 votes 

while party’s candidate Shakti Singh was declared as the vice president after he won with a margin of 7673 votes. Basoya got 20,467 votes while his rival NSUI’s Sunny Chhillar got 18,723 votes. Singh received 23,046 votes against NSUI rival Leena’s 15,373 votes.

While the battle for DUSU has mainly been the contest between the NSUI and the ABVP for years, the Left-affiliated AISA and Aam Aadmi Party’s CYSS entered into an alliance and also vied for the central panel posts this time.

Amid heavy police presence and some last-minute wooing of voters, DUSU polls were held yesterday with a voter turnout of 44.46%.

Polling took place at 52 centres in the colleges. There were as many as 23 candidates in the fray. 

DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties. Apart from DUSU, which is an umbrella council, each college also has its own students union for which they hold separate elections.

Though Delhi University officially does not recognise any political outfit, students who contest the polls are backed by different parties.The polls have been keenly contested over decades and are seen as a stepping stone to mainstream politics.

Union minister Arun Jaitley, Congress leader Ajay Maken, former Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay, Union minister and BJP leader Vijay Goel are some of the prominent politicians whose journey into mainstream politics began from DUSU. 

A happy faced BJP president Amit Shah congratulated the winning ABVP candidates saying it was not just a victory of youth’s faith in the nationalist ideology, but also a mandate of youth against divisive and opportunistic politics. 

“Heartiest congratulations to all the workers of the ABVP on the great victory in the Delhi University Students Union election. This victory is not just a victory of youth’s faith in the nationalist ideology, but also a mandate of youth against divisive and opportunistic politics,” Shah said. 

NSUI’s Akash Choudhary won the secretary’s post while ABVP’s Jyoti emerged victorious on the joint secretary post.

But Choudhary, the lone winning candidate of the NSIU alleged that fair elections were not conducted and data of seven EVMs were missing.

Meanwhile, the Chief Electoral Officer in Delhi on Thursday clarified that the EVMs used in DUSU elections have not been issued by the Election Commission and it seems to have been procured privately. The counting had to be suspended for few hours following glitch in the EVMs but was resumed in the evening amid heavy police deployment.

The NSUI demanded fresh polling, while the ABVP demanded resumption of counting. “There are only 8 candidates so how is it possible that votes were cast to a 10th candidate? All machines were fine yesterday. Police and administration are involved in this,” Fairoz Khan, NSUI president, alleged.


Splco News Correspondent
News analysis wing of Splco Media a bilingual (English & Tamil) novel social media channel.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

[…] Earlier  3 days before there results of Delhi university resulted in allegation of EVMs  […]